Wishing Penny

One several occasions in my life I have found myself standing beside a wishing well or a fountain, a girl by my side, a penny in my hand, a wish in my heart.

Each time the secret wish was the same. “Please let this girl care about me as much as I care about her.” It never worked. It was never supposed to.

Last spring, Bethany and I threw our pennies into a fountain. This time though, my wish was different. I silently prayed, as I tossed my penny, that I would be able to love her as much as she deserved to be loved. That in itself I guess is some evidence that I was already on the right track.

I’m still trying Dear. I love you with my everything and even still, more by the day. but I doubt that I will ever know how to love you as much as you deserve.

But I’ll keep at it.

Leave a comment